Writing: Join me for the Journey


Joined for the Journey

Did you take the ride with me or find yourself standing on the sidelines, confused?  

Writing is a meld of the writer and the reader.  After all, if no one reads what we write, what’s the point in writing?  The reader is a necessary ingredient for success as a writer.   As much as the reader enjoys the reading journey, the writer enjoys planning the trip for him.

 

x♥x♥x♥x♥  You – the reader — an integral part of the writing experience ♥x♥x♥x♥x

x♥x♥x♥x♥  are greatly appreciated.  ♥x♥x♥x♥x

Line art representation of a Quill

Line art representation of a Quill (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Have you ever thought of writing in this way?  How do you think of writing?  Do you think your view of writing evolves as you write and read?   Do you have anything else you want to add??   :D

 

Sorry about the typo :(

13 Comments

  1. Beautiful poem! I write because I enjoy writing and publishing, so I mostly write for myself. I do hope some people will read what I write, and with publishing online it is almost automatically a given. However, I would write even if no one would read it, such as in a journal. But even when I write in a journal, I imagine an audience reading what I write.

    • Thank you Christine. I guess I think of the writer as a reader too. We are probably the most important reader of our writing. If it pleases us, we have succeeded. :) I like the idea of imaging the audience. I guess I do that too, but had never put it in words. :) Angie

  2. Yes, I agree. The writer writes to be read, otherwise why bother to write?

    • As Christine points out above, there are reasons to write and a true writer would write if no one but she/he could read it. It’s always good to have readers (and feedback) though. That’s what I love the most about blogging. It’s interactive (and makes me smile to read the comments), where articles seldom are. Angie

  3. The word written is a word stored for posterity, for the future, for the betterment of humanity. Beautiful poem! I write simply because the written word is an expression of the soul, an expression of creativity which we as human beings need.

    • Amen Raymond! Just think where we’d be with out the written word of previous generations! No Bible, no classics, no anything. As an extremely creative person, I often see my (and others) writing as an art form. There’s nothing like taking those 26 letters and putting them together into a work of art! :) Angie

  4. Writing is also a way to “concretize” thinking. An idea without words is pretty useless. I write to remember, too.

    • So there are many reasons to write. That’s one I didn’t think of. :) Angie

  5. While readers we need to have from a business stand-point, part of why I write is for myself. I do get comfort and am able to work through personal problems with my poetry. I like the poem at the start of the post, Angie!

    • You are not alone in pointing out the benefits of writing even when you are the only reader. But, you are still a reader :). Thank you for your kind words. Angie

      • Ah, excellent point. We are our most critical reader…

  6. Wonderful poem and I write for all reasons mentioned…for myself, have had a journal since my teen years, for therapeutic reasons, and for others to read. Blogging is one way to get “published” and receive feedback and/or encouragement from others and it is truly rewarding. I enjoyed your post, Angie! Thank you!
    Lauren

    • Thank you so much. That’s one reason I love blogging! The almost instant feedback is nice too. Other writing, where you never or seldom connect with readers is lonely business. :) Angie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 407 other followers

