More advice


Let’s look at a few more slogans:

 

If it works, don’t fix it.

Gram:  This one hits me hard.  As a person who tends toward OCD perfectionism, I have to be reminded to stop before I ruin the work by trying to ‘fix’ it.  That’s one way an editor can come in handy; they can push you if it needs fixed and stop you if it doesn’t.

 

Keep it simple.

Imma:  This one hits me right between the eyes, because I can keep having ideas popping in my righty head, and I get too many things going at once.  Those of you who identify with this know just what I mean.  Gram reminds me that I don’t have to include everything.  I can choose the most important ideas and leave the rest for another project.

 

Keep the goal in mind.

Imma:  As a distractable right brain person, I tend to get distracted – EASILY.  I will flit from unfinished project to unfinished project and wind up getting nothing done.  Sometimes I will write a note and post it on my computer to help me stay on task when the shiny things call.

Gram:  I struggle with this too.  My problem is that I get caught up in creating and making it better, spending too much time because I lose track of the goal in the getting there.

 

Take what you need, not what you want.

Imma:  Hmmmmmm, this is a reminder that we can get caught up in the things we like and miss the things we need.  As we write or read, we can take the opportunity to learn, not just enjoy.

 

Progress not perfection.

Gram:  Any improvement is improvement.  Don’t be so relentless in trying to get to the perfect stage, that you don’t give yourself credit for incremental growth along the way.

 

Treat yourself as y0ur best friend.

Imma:  After all, if you don’t take care of yourself, who will?  This is true physically as well.   Many of the writers I know struggle with some kind of disability.  Then there’s the hours writers spend sitting at a computer.   If we would do it for/encourage our best friend, we should treat ourselves the same way.

 

This too shall pass.

No matter what the joy or the struggle, it, too, will pass.  Life is all about change, whether we like it or not.   If it’s hard, it will get better.  If it’s easy, it will get worse.  That is life as we know it.  It works for our writing as well.

I hope you have found encouragement here today!   Keep writing — One day at a time!

8 Comments

  1. maturestudenthanginginthere

    These are great Angie. I remember speaking to an old crofter in the North of Scotland. He was quite old a poorly and his GP had asked me to visit to make sure that he was getting all the financial assistance he was entitled to. He wasn’t much interested in this but instead decided that I should go for a walk with him and his dog. It was a cold day and as we walked he talked about his life. He said something I will always remember…. “At the end of the day we all have to paddle our own canoe”. I thought it was lovely and it has stuck with me. Just thought I would pass it on.

    • That’s very good advice, and sounds like an upcoming blog post at your place 🙂 We definately live in an entitlement society. Angie

  2. authormjlogan

    Keep the goal in mind. – I need to print this in big print, frame it and hang it on the wall.

    • Lol. That’s a good idea. My aunt bought large letter stickers (6″) and put, “You need to make better choices.” over the archway between rooms where she would see it every day.

  3. You are quite right about there being times that are tough and others that are easier, both for our writing and our personal lives. Observed and noted.

    • 🙂 Thanks for coming by Christy. Angie

  4. Well put, Angie. Being a tinkerer myself, I might sometimes appreciate a hosing down to point the way and stay on the path.

    • HA HA HA! Thanks Tess. 😀

Leave a Reply

