Go for it with your writing


“If I had to give young writers advice, I would say don’t listen to writers talking about writing or themselves.”  Lillian Hellman

 

When writers begin writing or enter into a new genre or even a new writer’s social circle or venue, they often experience wild fear  strokes a lack of confidence.  Confidence is something built over time with small successes.  How often do we look around and think we know less than everyone else around us.  We could even hark back to the post talking about fear of being “caught out”.

 

Even professionals can get caught up in this trap and start listening to the opinions of others over internal instinct.  Sometimes, we just have to shut out all the voices (even the ones in our head) and write.  We will have failures and successes, just like every other writer in the world (past, present, and future).

 

The only tragedy is when a writer doesn’t even attempt something because the voices say, “you can’t do that”, (Along with all the other things they tell us – for real or in our imaginations.)

 

Do you trust your instincts?  Do you fear  your instincts and seek to get confirmation from others first?   Do you fear your instincts because you fear failure?   Has there been a time when you shut down everyone and everything else and just went with it?  How did it feel?  Did it work for you?

 

So today, whatever your instinct is telling you, let it have its way and go for it!

Draw of a gold medal, based in Image:Olympic r...

Draw of a gold medal, based in Image:Olympic rings.svg (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

9 Comments

  1. This is GREAT advice! We MUST go by our instincts. I was told long ago that if we listened to everyone’s opinions, including those of writer wannabe’s, and write like they advise us to, we will NEVER discover our own writing voice. Critics, self-serving mutual admiration society writer’s circles, writer’s clubs, “how to write” books–collectively are often unhelpful, creating insecurity, low self-esteem, and even destroy the will to write. Negative opinions should be acknowledged, evaluated logically, and then ignored totally. Pick up the pencil or pen, or get on that keyboard and WRITE using your instincts instead! “:) ~R

    • Great stuff Raymond 🙂

  2. I think, as writers, we need to filter both what other people tell us and what we tell ourselves.

    When I started writing a manuscript in January, that I’ve recently finished the first draft, I felt compelled to write it in the beginning, but about halfway through I had my doubts about being able to finish it. I heard the negative thoughts that I spoke to myself, but I blocked them out and ignored them each time I heard them. The trick is that I didn’t listen to them or act on them.

    I screen other people’s advice too by only approving of what I know in my heart is true for myself and what will help me. Not taking everyone’s advice to heart and going with my instincts is best.

    • I’m glad you pushed through, Christine. Yes, we have to balance self-talk and other-talk and evaluate it’s usefulness for us at this point in time. Then do what we do. 🙂

  3. I certainly agree that sometimes we can be our own worst enemy. We really need to put ourselves first and go for the Gold!

    • Yes we do, Christy!!! I’m working on it myself 🙂

  4. A writer must put on his or her ear plugs, forget her siblings and family, and forge ahead. Remember the saying: If you build it, they will come? Do it first; planning isn’t working: working is working. Fabulous post. Your timing is SUPerb!

    • Thanks Tess, not my timing 🙂 It’s funny how differnt ones have different (and yet similar) takes on this post. You know, my instincts have never been wrong, and yet I still tend to distrust them at times. Freedom and success for me would include trusting myself and being me. I like the planning isn’t working (it feels like it): working is working. In other words, don’t get so lost in the planning stage that you get nothing done!! Good stuff 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Start Where You Are, Enmeshed in Your Unique Brilliance . . . then Never Look Back! « moniquerockliffe

Leave a Reply

