What challenges your writing?


Español: Isabel Allende escritora chilena en l...

Español: Isabel Allende escritora chilena en la presentación de su libro “La suma de los días” en Barcelona. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“I couldn’t write a novel sitting in a car but I could write short stories.  The advantage to this is because with a short story you write fragments.  In a couple of weeks you have a story and then you do some more.  If you really want to do something you do it in the most awkward circumstances, of course.”   Isabel Allende

 

What?  Have you ever noticed how you become your best self (and sometimes your worst) in the midst of the most difficult circumstances?  It is when the crisis comes that you find out what you’re made of.  It is when the road is rough that you must use ingenuity to get through.  All of the above statements essentially say the same thing.  Yes, really, they do!

 

When we follow our passion, we may will have obstacles.  Do we disregard our passion?  No.  In fact, obstacles often strengthen our determination and build character in us, leading us to even more determination.   Writing, fulfilling our dreams, pursuing our passion, seldom comes easy, and we should not want it to.  The things that come easy we tend to discount and even disrespect.  It is the things we work for that engender the most pride of accomplishment.

 

OBSTACLE

OBSTACLE (Photo credit: brixton)

Do you pursue your passion in spite of the difficulties or obstacles?  

Do you know what your passion is? 

Can you see where obstacles have sometimes made your work better?  Made you better?

What do you think?

 

8 Comments

  1. Being a writer is a challenging occupation. It does not involve just writing. It also involves networking, marketing, researching, editing, and reading–all on a daily basis. This makes the career very time-consuming, which can be a struggle when there are other things to do in life.

    Luckily, I love to be busy doing things I love, so I don’t mind the 12 hour days that is required to be a writer. Sometimes I have a hissy fit, like a child, but mostly I love my career.

    The most challenging part of being a writer is writing books, because they take a lot of time (about a year) to complete with no reward until they are published. However, I reward myself with a pat on the back every time I write. It keeps me going, along with the knowledge of feeling a huge sense of accomplishment and pride when I publish the book.

    I do believe I have strong character and improved communication skills from being a writer. I wouldn’t give it up for anything in the world…except when my husband needs my attention, lol.

    • This is so true, Christine! I wish I knew which time-consuming things I should be doing though. Sometimes you wonder. I love most of it though, so I’m not complaining. I think it’s great that you can write books. I have ideas, but have not even begun to put one together yet!! So kudos to you! Definately put it down when hubby needs attention!!!!!!

  2. Pursuing your passion is persistence no matter what occurs. Defeating obstacles makes you stronger and better! You need heart, you need to be fearless and offer your voice to the reader regardless of challenge or negative feedback. To do that, you have to be true to yourself, be who you are…Angela, gGreat post, and thought-provoking. “:)

    • Thank you Raymond. That’s great advice 🙂

  3. Obstacles do nudge us out of our comfort zones and really test us. Getting through many of them myself (and we’re not talking small bumps!) I do take time to reflect and on them to help myself feel more powerful for having gotten through the hard times. While I know there will be more, I also know I am strong enough to get through it! Good post Angie!

    • Thanks Christy. I’m glad you’re working through the bumps. I’ve been on a big run of bumps (big ones by my perspective) for a while now too, but it’s all par for the course. I have a feeling God sees them as they are – molehills 🙂

  4. I think having kids has destroyed my brain and my time. I do love them though.

    • Ha ha ha ha! I agree 🙂 Grandkids don’t help much either, but I do love them 🙂

Leave a Reply

