I am a professional writer


Richard Bach (Never stop trying. )“A professional writer is an amateur who didn’t quit.”

 

Gram and Imma sit in their rockers, mending. . .

Imma:  You know, Gram, it’s funny how our creative processes work themselves out differently.  Many people don’t recognize that you are creative too.

Gram:  Thank you, Imma,  I guess I have trouble seeing that in myself too.  You know I’ve been thinking about a comment I made that I don’t consider myself a professional writer.  Mike was quick to point out that, since I’ve made money at it, I have the right to call myself a pro.

Imma:  That’s right.  You do have trouble seeing yourself for the wonderful writer you are.  I’ve always seen you as a pro.

Gram:  I know sweetheart, you know just how to make me feel good about myself.   Those 10 things not to say to a writer kind of hit home.  I don’t need others telling me that stuff, because I tell myself that stuff all the time!

Imma:  I’ve noticed a lot of writers have the same issues.  I guess we’ve either heard those things too often and believed them, or we are part of the problem.  If we don’t respect ourselves, how can we expect others to respect us?

Gram:  How true is that?  I may not always know what I’m doing in navigating the waters, but I am a professional writer.

Imma:  I’m pretty sure none of us know everything about the writing world, but we know our own niche.   AND, we help others.

Gram:  I know.  I’ve met so many people who so generously help when questions come up.  That’s one of the things I love the most about my writing world.

Imma:  Me too!  Well, I guess you and I should make it official.  We are professional writers!

Gram:  Here, here!  Would you like a fresh cup of tea, my dear?

Do you ever fear others will judge you and think you’re not ‘good enough’, so you put yourself down before they can?  Do you expect more of yourself than others? 

 

Can you tell yourself, “I am a pro”? 

By the way:  there’s absolutely nothing wrong with wanting to be an amateur writer.  The choice is yours. 🙂

10 Comments

  1. Yes I believe in being a “pro” in what you do. In the end, however, it is really just a label, isn’t it?! Hmmm now you have me thinking – that’s not right for a Saturday hehe!

    • Lol. Sorry to get your brain burning going on a Saturday. You are right. It is just a label. AND we don’t have to prove our worth to others! Angie

  2. It’s true, I have trouble saying I’m a writer out loud but recently a question was put to me and without blinking, my mouth ran ahead of me and said I was a writer. My ears almost caved in with the shock of hearing those words out loud and in such a confident voice. I’ve no idea how that happened. I usually feel I’m pretending to be one (you know that word…a wri…).

    I love how you get your points across. Bravo.

    • Good for you Tess!!! I hate that reaction wherein others seem to want me to prove I’m a writer by some type of credentials they determine. I need to come up with a come back and quit worrying about it. I know what you mean about the pretending thing. Thank you very much for your compliment 🙂 Angie

  3. Great conversation! I’ve never made money at writing, but someday I’ll be a pro! 🙂
    God Bless You!

    • You can still be a pro, even if you’ve never been paid, if that is what you see as success for yourself. I’m glad you enjoyed the conversation 🙂 Angie

  4. I have always thought that getting paid for the work made one a professional. Maybe not an expert (which implies craft and skill), but at least professional. I think writers often blend the two and succumb to too lofty of expectations. I have been paid for several pieces of writing, so I am a professional writer. However, I write as a hobby and not a career. So, I don’t perform consistently as a professional, I suppose. Oh well.

    • I suppose all professionals have times when they are not in pro mode. I don’t write for anybody but me right at this moment, and I’m loving it 🙂 I think you’re right about writers blending the two. I do have expert subjects, but I also know how to research, so I can write about most things as if I were an expert. 🙂 Thanks for the comment Sean.

Trackbacks

  1. “And how do you feel about that?” « writing with both sides of my brain
  2. More advice « writing with both sides of my brain

Leave a Reply

