Flash Fiction Follow-Up


Yesterday, we played with words in what I called a tri-story.  You can read it here if you missed it.   Some of you had difficulty reading it because it was distracting.  That’s ok.  It’s point was to play with words and to show that stories are flexible.  The turn of a phrase can change the story in many ways.  Stories are not static things that lend themselves to bullet points.  They are flexible, plyable, twistable, etc., allowing the writer to take the story in any direction, or in many directions as I did in the stories from the previous post.   Some claim that they don’t write stories, stories write themselves.  Have you ever started in one direction and the characters, plot, etc. just refused to go where you wanted them to?

What about when writing your story, as in a true story about you.  Even these stories are flexible in that, as we choose the words we will use, we determine how the story will go.  For example, some may approach it with humor and others may approach the stories as a tragedy.  When we write, no matter what we write, we have a whole arsenal of tools to use.  I personally have made Thesaurus.com one of my best pals.  It helps me keep it fresh and often inspires me in new directions as I peruse it.  Gram and Imma suggest taking stories you already know or have written and using a thesaurus to change it, just to see what happens.  This is just one more way to play with words, the life-blood of writers.

 

For the sake of those who had difficulty reading the stories all entwined together, I rewrote them each separately below.  Enjoy and then go out and play with some words.  We’d love to hear about it!

♥♥♥♥♥

Story 1: 

 

Her fingers chased each other lightly across the keys of her laptop.  Concentration oozed from her pores, and frown lines dipped lightly into her gleaming forhead.  The words appearing on her laptop seemed to vibrate with intensity.  Her body hummed with excitement as the last word appeared on the page.  Her smile peeked through as she hit the send button and dropped her hands to her lap.

As he saw her e-mail on his screen, his heart fluttered in anticpation.  Her message hit him full in the face, causing him to catch his breath.  His smile spread slowly across his face as he gleefully stroked in his reply.

Entering the cafe, his eyes sought the lady he was to meet.  His breath caught as he saw her sitting there, waiting eagerly for their rendezvous.  “I’m so glad we could finally meet.” he grinned, kissing her extended fingers and seating himself for their first real date.

 

♥♥♥♥♥

Story 2:

Her fingers chased each other furiously across the keys of her computer.  Rage oozed from her pores, and furrows dug themselves deep into her rigid forehead.  The angry words appearing on her laptop seemed to mock her.  Her body sagged with fatigue as her rage spent itself out on the page.  An evil grin spread across her face as she jabbed send and dropped her hands in her  lap.

As he apprehensively opened her e-mail, his heart dropped in regret — and fear.  Her angry words hit him full in the face, causing him to suck in his breath.  His frown tightened across his face as he slammed the lid of his laptop and picked up his phone.

Ordering the expensive bracelet, his eyes closed in defeat.  His breath expelled in a rush as he saw her sitting there, impatiently waiting for their rendezvous.  “Do you forgive me?” he begged contrightly, noticing the flash of his diamonds on her elegant wrist and settling in for a long evening of groveling.

♥♥♥♥♥

Story 3:

Her fingers chased each other playfully across the keys of her piano.  Joy oozed from her pores, and no lines dared to mar her delicate forhead.  The sounds surrounding the listeners seemed dance in the air.  Her body tensed momentarily as she moved into the final chords.  Her body seemed to wilt as she finished the piece and dropped her hands into her lap.

As he listened to her melodic offerings, his heart warmed as the colorful notes wrapped around him.  Her passion hit him full in the face, causing him to forget to breathe.  His secret smile flitted across his face as he moved into the aisle with the moving mass of concert goers trying to find their way out the door first.

Heading against the crowd to the back of the concert hall, his eyes looked for the dressing room door.  His breath left him as he saw her sitting there, waiting demurely for their rendezvous.  “Beautiful, as usual, my dear.” he wispered suavely, sweeping her into a yearning kiss as he carried his beautiful wife to the couch.

6 Comments

  1. elizabeth

    I have to say Angela, I like this way better 🙂 And you make some great points. I’d written a memoir of my early childhood and I thought it was quite heavy and depressing. But when my brother in law, who found my sister’s copy and read it, said it was the funniest thing he’d ever read and where’s part two, I was stunned. My eldest sister’s boy found her copy and said it was hilarious. Confused I got out my copy, which I hadn’t read in about a year or so, and read it. I was laughing too. It was hilarious. But why didn’t I see that when I wrote the thing?

    I’m one who really doesn’t plot. I just let the story roll whatever way it wants to roll. And if I go off course it usually manages to draw me back on course without too much ado. I think sometimes we are too close to the project to really see what it is all about. That’s true for me.

    And I LOVE Dictionary.com, Thesaurus.com, Rhymezone.com, and Syllable.com. They are all wonderfully helpful sites for writers and poets. I think that’s the thing I love most about the Web, it’s so easy to find information on anything and everything and in a split-second.

    • I agree 🙂 I have those sites up often when I’m writing. Isn’t it funny how the ‘who is reading it’ and ‘when it is read’, …. stuff makes a difference. One of the reasons I write is that I love word play. I love seeing what I can do with words and where they will take me. They are my journey into other worlds, times, places…. I also love the people you meet along the way 🙂 Angie

  2. How inventive this is, Angie. By changing words here and there you create new occurrences and new feelings in the readers. I enjoyed comparing the stories to one another. I love words!

    • Thanks Christy. I’m glad someone got it! he he 🙂 Angie

  3. This exercise is interesting. Thanks, Angie.

    • This exercise is interesting. Thanks, Angie.

Leave a Reply

