Knitting Patterns and Stories


Gram:  Imma, you know, in keeping with our analogy, we could also say the knitting pattern applies to story telling as well.

Imma:  You’re right Gram!  When we write a story, we have to start with a pattern of sorts, don’t we.

Gram:  Sure, we have to have an idea what kind of book we’re going to write.  Even if it shifts in the middle, you must start with an idea of where the story is going to go.

Imma:  Let’s see, that would include the genre of the story.  What else?

Gram:  Hmmmmmm, I guess it would include a theme, or what the story is about.  How about the overview of the plot?

Imma:  Yes!  I know when I start to knit, I have to have that pattern handy so I know what comes next and what my finished product is supposed to look like.

Gram:  That’s for sure!  It also helps when you make a mistake or hit a glitch and have to rewind a bit.

Imma:  Yes, Gram, especially for you!

Gram:  Hey!  I resemble that remark!  {both ladies laughing}

Imma:  Gram, I have an idea.  Why don’t we ask our readers to continue the analogy of the knitting pattern?

Gram:  That’s a great idea, Imma.  Ok, readers, it’s up to you.  Can you come up with any more ways that writing a story compares with having a pattern?

Imma:  We can’t wait to hear what you have to say.

Ok, it’s your turn — have at it!

This is a basic shadow knitting pattern create...

This is a basic shadow knitting pattern created in Microsoft Excel. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

5 Comments

  1. elizabeth

    Sorry ladies, I’ve never used a knitting pattern and wouldn’t know how to follow one even if it wasn’t running. That said, the ability to look at the pattern when one has lost the plot, and has to go back to pick up the trail, would indeed help get one back on the right track.

    • Lol. Thanks. I do use a pattern and still manage to get lost! I’d never make it without one though. Crocheting I can do without a pattern, and often do, but not knitting! Even God has a pattern 🙂

  2. Knitting — what’s that?! 🙂
    God Bless You!

    • Something I do, but I am not very good at!!!!!! God bless you as well 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. “And how do you feel about that?” « writing with both sides of my brain

Leave a Reply

