Taming a writing gremlin: Disorganization!


Image representing Google Reader as depicted i...

Image via CrunchBase

Hi strangers!  It feels like a long time since we posted here.  Someone ::cough, cough, Imma:: tends to be a little disorganized.  So, we have been working on that.  I have to confess that I contribute to the problem with my perfectionism, but if you tell Imma I said that, I’ll deny it!

 

So, what did we do to cut down on the clutter in our lives?

1> Spreadsheet.  First, I must confess that I have several documents already for this purpose.  The operative word here is “several”.  Instead of several documents, we now have one spreadsheet with a page for each category.  This includes a list of those I follow, and those who follow me (on both blogs).  Alphabetical order makes it much easier when I need to look someone up for some reason.

2>  Google Reader.   Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh!  Even though I can’t always like from Google Reader, it gives me a way to organize my feeds in one place without clogging up my poor inbox!  I’m loving it!  I can click on a person’s blog name and see all their posts.  This is much easier than having to go back one page at a time if I have missed something.  It’s also a lot easier to read, especially from my iPad.  AND it’s a whole lot easier to keep up with.  I seldom fall in love with such things because the learning curve is usually steep.  However, Google Reader caused only minor headaches.  It’s easy and functional – what could be better?

3> If you get a message saying I unfollowed you.  WORRY!  No, I’m just kidding.  You have been moved to Google Reader, so I am unfollowing on WordPress so I can actually find my mail again without digging through thousands of blog related posts.  This should make it a lot easier for me to respond to comments in my own blogs as well.

Thanks to all who have hung in there with me.  I hope this will make life a bit easier for me.  Have a wonderful Mother’s Day!  Gram

6 Comments

  1. It all sounds a bit complicated but as long as I can still follow you that is ok by me.

    • Anyone can still follow me by WordPress or e-mail:) Nothing changes for you guys. I just will have an easier time reading your blog! And maybe I’ll be more timely??? Thanks for coming by :) Angie

  2. maturestudenthanginginthere

    I’m not really sure what Google reader is, but hey if it works for you go for it. Just make sure we can still find you because your posts are part of my day. :wink:

    • Aw thank you. No effect on you guys. If you have a google account (gmail or +1) or maybe if you don’t (?) Type Google Reader in the box and it will come up. I suppose you can join then if you don’t have an account already. Also http://www.google.com/reader if you want to check it out. For ipad reading it’s soooo much easier! I am afraid I’ve been missing people! Thanks for dropping by.

  3. I’m going to repeat what came before. I have no idea what all the wonderful new gadgets you’re talking about can do. I thought you’d disappeared off the blogosphere. Glad to see you back. I’ve been running off my feet trying to keep on top of projects AND still find time for blogging. Oi. Happy Mother’s Day.

    • Ah Tess, you have a way with words :). See my comment to maturestudent about google reader. I’ve been keeping up with the other blog somewhat, but this one has slipped by the wayside. I hear you about the busyness!!! I hope you (and Anne and maturestudent) have a great Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 407 other followers

