Handling writer’s block


Gram:  I probably deal with writers block more than Imma does. One reason is my perfectionist tendencies.  Another is my perfectionist tendencies.  :D.  I have an ‘all or nothing’ mentality when it comes to my work.  I want perfection, and I don’t want to put my name on something that doesn’t reflect well on me.  You can see how this might lead to migranes insanity writer’s block.

I think  I deal with writer’s block in a similar way to  Imma, but it often lasts longer and I tend to stress out about it more.

 ♥♥♥♥

Imma:  Writer’s block happens., yes, it even happens to me at times!  It’s true that I don’t stress about it a lot.  I just keep writing , and sooner or later , my muse returns.  I do stress about other things at times, but I’m a go-with-the-flow kind of gal.  I am also more inclined to take poetic licence, so I’m not as likely to declare myself officially in writer’s block quite as easily.  I prefer to think of it as a learning process.

Writer's Block

Writer's Block (Photo credit: hannahspanna)

Some things to try:

1.  Put your pen/computer away and go do some thing else, anything else!  This could involve a walk, lunch and a giggle-fest (laugh-fest for you gents) with some friends, or even a nap.  The point is to take a break and blow the cobwebs away.

2.  Don’t be too hard on yourself.  Writers like to write, and when they can’t, it makes them suicidal batty.

3.  Remember:  this too shall pass!  By its nature, writer’s block, is temporary.  You will write again.

4.  Keep writing!  Yes, it may fall into the category of “Don’t let anyone know I wrote this stuff, make its way into file 13,  or it could prove to be a good base for a future article.  The point is to keep trying (in between breaks) even if it’s only writing your ABCs every day.

5.  Use the time to catch up on your reading.  You may even find inspiration to write again. In the mean time, you will increase in knowledge, help out fellow writers, and maybe make a new friend or two (real person, cyber- friend, or new book/ writer.)

 ♥♥♥♥

 How do you deal with writer’s block?  Are you more like Gram or Imma?  Do you see it as a temporary glitch or a major catastrophe?  Do you have ideas for beating writer’s block to share?

{This post is a reaction/entry for The Uninspired Chronicles challenge over at riatarded}

22 Comments

  1. riatarded

    Thank you! I love the way you have expressed yourself! Short, sweet and to the point! Awesome!:) x

    P.S: It would be awesome if you could follow my blog so that you can keep up with the progress of the project! You can unfollow it later if you like but I promise I will try not to bore you :p

  2. I can’t seem to get around to writer’s block, mostly because I have to put it aside due to a nutty schedule. Sad but true. Nice Article!
    God Bless You!

  3. Yay, Vey and Nay. Sometimes. Good advice, though.

  4. I just love the like button, for it allows me to see all the pretty faces (and gravatars) of those who come to visit! I always feel like something is missing when I visit a blog that doesn’t have this feature! 🙂

  5. t

    Lovely post! And excuse me, but this gent has had quite a number of giggle-fests, sometimes even with other people =)

    • Thank you! I know gents giggle too, but most of them don’t want to admit it. I believe even God giggles like a school girl at times. Thanks for coming by. Angie

  6. Reading usually does the trick for me. The key in all of these is variety. I like to say if variety is the spice of life, then versatility is the grinder. Thanks for the reminder! ~Dan

    • I love how you put that 🙂

  7. Thank you 🙂

  8. Thanks for including me 🙂

  9. Thanks!

  10. Thanks 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Current State of Mind. « Free to Write.
  2. N is for No Ideas | Story Treasury
  3. Writer’s Block and the Lucky 7 « the dog ate my novel
  4. Tips for Getting Over Writer’s Block « TeenGirlsthatWrite
  5. Words come easily – except when they don’t… | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…
  6. What To Do About Serious Writer’s Block? | The Collaborative Writer
  7. Puzzle Pieces « Writing with both sides of my brain
  8. “I See Thee Hate the Hand and the Pen, But I Am Stronger” | Jessica Sideways.com
  9. Writing – an ever learning process « writing with both sides of my brain

Leave a Reply

