Gram and Poetry


Poetry is an...

Poetry is an... (Photo credit: liber(the poet);)

 

Hello there!  Pull up a chair and a cup of coffee (tea, pop, …) and let’s talk about poetry.  No, you didn’t get the name wrong.  I, Gram, also dabble in poetry, but it is not my ‘thing’.  When I so, I, rather than playing with ideas as Imma is wont to do, play with the words, structures, styles, and such.  I love structure, hidden meanings (especially if punny), taking the puzzle pieces and putting them together in a way that may not make sense to those who like to write about ideas and ideology.  I think of it as a mental exercise rather than writing poems.

One of my favorite places to go for rhyming help is Rhyme Zone.  I have used others, but find this one meets my needs best.  I am going to offer a challenge or two here.  You may do the exercises or not, as you will.  I am very aware of time constraints!  If you want to share, I’d love to see what you come up with, either in the comments or as a link to your post.  I also hope you’ll let me know about the process and if you learned anything about yourself or your writing from it.

~*~*~*~*~

Challenge 1:  Choose a word.  Please don’t use an easy word, but you may have to try a couple before finding the one that inspires you.  Create a poem (prose or otherwise) using only ending words that rhyme with that word.  The only rule:  each line must rhyme with the one prior.

You can see an example of one I wrote using the word:   Frustration.

~*~*~*~*~

Challenge 2:  Choose a word.  Sound familiar?  In this one, however, that one word will end each line.  The only rule:  each line must end (or begin) with the same word

You can see an example of one I wrote using the word:  Enveloped.

~*~*~*~*~

{Disclaimer:  The examples are old poems written for Helium.com.  You do not have to see them to begin your challenge, so feel free not to click on the links – not seeking personal promo!}

 

I can’t wait to see what you all come up with.  Keep tuned for more challenges from both Imma and I in the future.  🙂    Gram

5 Comments

  1. elizabeth

    All day I’ve’a been’a wired
    Now’a I’m’a just’a plain tired.

    It’s past my bed time Angela. You can’t expect much at midnight! 🙂

    • Ha ha ha ha! Thanks for the laugh 🙂 Your response is always your option. I fully understand that sometimes the brain just refuses to function (both sides!).

  2. authormjlogan

    ahhh…. blank

    My mind is blank
    inner cold, damp and dank
    I seek to fill my wordsmith tank
    among the greats, I want to rank.

    That was hard. LOL

  3. Great job Mike 🙂 It is hard! Try one with a word that doesn’t have many rhymes and fry a few brain cells. Keeps us young?????

Trackbacks

  1. My Favorite Lady Friend « Writing with both sides of my brain

Leave a Reply

