Imma’s “suggestions” of writing


 

As you know, I respect the need for rules, but I do not like them.  I prefer a more free-flowing work, applying my own rules as I go.  That being said, the following are some of my suggestions for improving your writing.

1.  Write, write, write, and then write some more.

2.  Don’t worry about details like grammar in your first draft.  You can always fix (or have Gram fix) those issues later after the creative process has had time to work.

3.  Think of your writing as a work of art.  This works better with such things as pose and poetry, but it works with other forms of writing as well.

Am I art to you?

4. Rewrite.  Gram and I agree on this one:  if it doesn’t work for you grammatically or otherwise, rewrite it in a way that works better.  All problems can be solved with a rewrite for those who do not have the skills or the inclination to take the original and make it grammatically perfect.

5.  Let it sit.  I always like to let my works sit for a few hours, a day, a week, or however long it takes till I can come back to it with fresh eyes.  This often helps me catch those little things that might slip by in a first write (or even a re-write).  I’m sure you’ll notice I don’t do this very often with blog posts.  However, for more professional writing opportunities, even I know you need to bring  your A game.

13 Comments

  1. I especially like #4. I like to say I circumnavigate the problem. 🙂

    • That’s a good way to say it. That one has saved me a lot of headaches (especially when editing for my friend who is grammar challenged!) 🙂

  2. elizabeth

    Great advice Angela. And I love the ART visual. I can use that! 🙂

    • I’m glad you found something you can use, Elizabeth. Thank you very much.

  3. Great post! It sounds like you use the same writing process that I do. I write it, creative all the way, then let it stew, add and rewrite and finally repair. “:)

    • Only half of me works that way Raymond. It depends on who is in charge. Gram likes to correct as you go. This is really not a great habit! Thanks for coming by. Angie

  4. I like to dump all my thoughts on paper so I don’t forget them and then go to work. Then I leave well enough alone for a while. While the percolating is going on, I sometimes have another idea or two. Then I rewrite until I’m not in love with the idea anymore. Leave it and go back. Either I can think of something new and add or I’m DONE.

    Not too different from what you’ve put out here. Nice to see reminders or a little prop UP. Thanks.

    • When Imma’s in charge I have to dump all my thoughts or I’ll lose them! I often do this in a web or list format though and then go back and write the article. I say percolating a lot because that’s what it does – the pre-post ideas, the post, and the revisions. I’m glad you enjoyed Imma’s rules, I mean suggestions. 🙂 Angie

  5. This is simply put and great advice. Thank you.

    • Thank you 🙂 Angie

  6. authormjlogan

    I am all about #1 and #2, while #4 and #5 are good friends of mine.

    • It must work well for you Mike because you are certainly good at it! 🙂 Angie

Trackbacks

  1. Meet MJ’s Brain « Writing with both sides of my brain

Leave a Reply

