Gram’s quotes continued


Pepsi logo (1970-1991) In 1987, the font was m...

Image via Wikipedia

 

“Arguments over grammar and style are often as firece as those over IBM versus Mac, and as fruitless as Coke versus Pepsi and boxers versus briefs.”  Jack Lynch

 

As you all have seen through our posts here, the argument did not start with us.  It will not end with us either.

 

~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~

1981 Louis ARAGON présente "La messe d'El...

1981 Louis ARAGON présente "La messe d'Elsa" à Lyon (Photo credit: Bernardo LE CHALLOUX)

 

“I demand that my books be judged with utmost severity, by knowledgeable people who know the rules of grammar and of logic, and who will seek beneath the footsteps of my commas the lice of my thought in the head of my style.” Louis Aragon

 

A man after my own heart????

 

 

~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~

The original manuscript of Wittgenstein's 'Not...

Image via Wikipedia

 

“Like everything metaphysical the harmony between thought and reality is to be found in the grammar of the language.”  Ludwig Wittgenstein

 

I find this quote quite poetic and lovely.  Grammar, in essence, is the foundation upon which good writing builds (me:)

 

 

~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~

Illustration of a "duckrabbit", disc...

Image via Wikipedia

What that book does for me is give me the tools in the same way that I had the tools when I learned the regular scales or the alphabet. If you give me the tools, the syntax, and the grammar, it still doesn’t tell me how to write Ulysses.”  David Baker

On the other hand, a good foundation, while necessary, is only a foundation.  It is incomplete without someone building on top of it using the necessary writing skills to create archetectural beauty for the beholder.  (me:)

 

 ~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~

Grammar police

“When a thought takes one’s breath away, a grammar lesson seems an impertinence.”
Thomas W. Higginson

“Writing is an act of faith, not a trick of grammar.”
E. B. White

I placed these last two offerings together to top off my post today.  Grammar is and always will be an important part of writing.  It is not, however, the only part.  It is only as the two become one that good excellent writing emerges.  (me:)

 

 ~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~♥~

 

I hope you enjoyed this foray into the quote world.  Thanks for stopping by,  Gram

 

Related articles for fun:

 

 

8 Comments

  1. I just love the Higginson quote.

  2. Excellent writers do their utmost to fit their wonderful flair with words economically into the precise world of grammar.

    • Very true. That’s part of the thing that drives them 🙂

  3. Love the quotes, especially E. B. White! Like the bloggingwithbeth link too. Thanks.

    • I love bloopers 🙂

  4. The phrase “the lice of my thought” had me wanting to scratch my head… literally!!

    • Yes, I thought that was particularly creative, but still! Are the lice on the right side or the left side?

Leave a Reply

