Bringing the inner child to life


☼ Some are still a little closer to childhood than others.  🙂

 

A child who does not play is not a child, but the man who does not play has lost forever the child who lived in him.  ~Pablo Neruda

I am often accused of being childish.  I prefer to interpret that as child-like.  I still get wildly enthusiastic about little things.  I tend to exaggerate and fantasize and embellish.  I still listen to instinctual urges.  I play with leaves.  I skip down the street and run against the wind.  I never water my garden without soaking myself.  It has been after such times of joy that I have achieved my greatest creativity and produced my best work. ~Leo F. Buscaglia, Bus 9 to Paradise

Man is most nearly himself when he achieves the seriousness of a child at play.  ~Heraclitus

Maybe we should develop a Crayola bomb as our next secret weapon.  A happiness weapon.  A beauty bomb.  And every time a crisis developed, we would launch one.  It would explode high in the air – explode softly – and send thousands, millions, of little parachutes into the air.  Floating down to earth – boxes of Crayolas.  And we wouldn’t go cheap, either – not little boxes of eight.  Boxes of sixty-four, with the sharpener built right in.  With silver and gold and copper, magenta and peach and lime, amber and umber and all the rest.  And people would smile and get a little funny look on their faces and cover the world with imagination.  ~Robert Fulghum

In every real man a child is hidden that wants to play.  ~Friedrich Nietzsche

Happy is he who still loves something he loved in the nursery:  He has not been broken in two by time; he is not two men, but one, and he has saved not only his soul but his life.  ~G.K. Chesterton

The great man is he who does not lose his child’s-heart.  ~Mencius, Book IV

You’re never too old to do goofy stuff.  ~From the television show Leave it to Beaver, spoken by the character Ward Cleaver

So, like a forgotten fire, a childhood can always flare up again within us.  ~Gaston Bachelard
When I grow up I want to be a little boy.  ~Joseph Heller, Something Happened, 1974

23 Comments

  1. Love the quotes, especially the Robert Fulghum. Thanks.

  2. I love the quotes too and also the Robert Fulghum one.

    At this time in my life, I find it’s the little things that engage me. It doesn’t take much to make me happy.

    • It’s always good when the little things make us happy. That often takes maturity:) You have to get older and wiser to find your inner child??????? Thanks for coming by. Angie

  3. A Crayola bomb? That is the greatest!!

    Nancy

    • Hey, gets my vote too!

  4. The crayola bomb is my fave part! I see I am not alone amongst your readers hehe

    • Yes, I think there is a consensus. Maybe we should suggest this to the powers-that-be ????? I see us all becoming rainbow colored, so that we no longer see skin color 🙂

  5. Haha, this post reminds me of my latest post: Think my inner child is shouting and stamping its feet to be heard at the moment!
    Great way to start the week anyway 🙂

    • I like that you can blame your inner child for your tantrum ;]

  6. This is very moving. I especially love the GK Chesterton quote.

    • Hello and thank you. You are the first to choose Chesterton over Fulghum. They both tackle different aspects of the same problem. Thanks for stopping by. Angie

  7. Jenny Alexander

    I think we writers are very lucky because we can play as much as we like – half the job is playing around with ideas and pretend-games, imagining ourselves in different roles and worlds like we did in the playground. Love the quotes!

    • Thank you Jenny. I agree, writers are fortunate to have an occupation that encourages us to play.

  8. we had a lovely time playing as children on the nlp course I was on recently – very important to remember how to be a child – ready to learn and explore and not worried about making mistakes. Using our imagination all the time!

    • It’s sad that life teaches us to give up the good of childhood with the bad. Thanks for coming by, Caroline 🙂 Angie

      • I think we start to lose it when we go to school!!

      • I agree. Sit down, shut up, and learn something. Fill your mind with what we tell you and nothing else…..

  9. Nice quotes you got here, thanks for dropping by and following,will do the same. 🙂
    Cheers! Cynthia

    • Thank you Cynthia!

  10. Deb

    I love these quotes! You know, thanks to you, you woke up the child within me a bit early today…thanks for that!.
    Hugs, xx

    • Thank you so much Deb. I’m glad your child within could get a bit of extra time today. 🙂 Angie

Trackbacks

  1. Imma’s Imaginings « Writing with both sides of my brain

Leave a Reply

