Tuning in to the writer’s inner child


In no particular order:

►Finger paint – no rules – just create.

►Free writing – no rules – just write.

►Go for a walk – try to see the things around you from the view of a child.  (Take a camera and take pictures of things children would find interesting.

►Go for a walk with a child.  Do what they do, follow their lead.

►Play on the swings and other items at the park.

►Build a fort (blanket over a table is fine—don’t ruin it with adult perfectionism).  Go inside the fort to write or read some comics.

►Give your inner child permission to speak without fear of reprisal.

Hang out with children.

►Pick dandelions and put them on your desk in a jar or glass.

►Speak jibberish or make up your own language.  This is especially fun if you have someone do it with you while shopping at WalMart.  This is a great family time activity as well.

►Pretend to be one of your characters.  What would he or she do?  Fiction writing is all about pretending (putting oneself in the place of the characters) and bringing the people in your imagination to life.

►Free write – giving your characters a chance to tell you who they are and what they want to happen.

Lay on the grass and look at the clouds.  See what shapes you can find.  Can you make up stories about the shapes?  (Childish stories – remember we’re looking for our inner child.   Ex:  The giant bunny and the dragon with the blue tail were having a tea party/jousting/playing marbles with the round clouds/….)

Pick up items around your house and feel them with your mouth/tongue.  (Yes it’s gross; yes kids do this. If you must, your ‘adult’ can wash them first, but what fun is that?)   Disclaimer – PLEASE don’t choke on small items!

►On your walk, take a bag or box.  As you go, look for ‘treasures’ to keep.  Keep those treasures in a place where you can see them and play with them sometimes.  I gave my grandson a jar to collect “treasures”. These treasures caught the eye of a 4 year old boy:  a marble, a tiny screw, a piece of paper, a button, a dead ant (I know, ick!), a piece of shiny plastic, two rubber bands, two paper clips and a dime.  Of course, these items were found in my house or it would  have held a few more gross items.

My ‘treasure/toy box’, (Yes, I have one) contains among other things:  a Gumby and Pokey (two sizes), several marbles in bright shiny colors, a tiny doll clothespin doll, a ‘brain’ inside a plastic head, a clear plastic body that shows the insides of a person (about7” tall), several “My Family” dolls, a preserved 18 year locust, a small glass doll in a cradle (given to me), . . . .   Why do I have a treasure box?  Because:  I love to play with these things at times.  I just enjoy the feel and color of the marbles or remembering with Gumby and Pokey.  I keep these things that bring me pleasure (don’t go too far overboard) because…

– wait for it –

►►►►►►►THEY BRING ME PLEASURE!!!◄◄◄◄◄◄◄

Some remind me of childhood things, others just catch my eye and my inner child begs for them. ☺ (What’s a parent to do?)

 

{Yes, this is part of my own stuff}

Do you let your inner child out to play at times?

 

Do you have ideas to add for ways to tune in to your inner child?

4 Comments

  1. Yes the inner child does emerge from time to time.. I’ll embrace it next time and create my own ‘playtime’. It may be followed by ‘naptime’ if I wear myself out… I’m happy to see your post today and hope you are doing well xx

    • Sorry it’s taken so long to respond! I love that you included nap time:). I don’t know how I could have forgotten that very important aspect of childhood.

  2. authormjlogan

    I have my little “boxes.” Actually they are small cedar boxes/chests. I open them up, smell the cedar and look at my things. There are things from long ago and sometimes I add a new thing.

    There are, however, no dead ants… I hope.

    • I love the boxes. I’m sure the smell adds to the experience! With cedar, you’re probably good on the bug thing:). Good idea.

Leave a Reply

