Writing with the inner child


Some will see the struggle between Gram and Imma (read the original introduction to these two if you are joining us later) as that between a child and an adult.  I have no problem with that, even though I find that too simple.  But, for the sake of understanding, let’s go with it for a while.

In light of the above, let’s view Imma as our inner child.  Some of us grow up and lose this part of ourselves, but all of us started out as a child.  We all had to grow up.  Some of us possibly grew up too well, losing that innocent wonder that is childhood (well, that should be childhood).  I hope that all of you will have stored in your memory at least one moment where you were innocent and full of wonder at the world.

My childhood days are long gone, but I have my grandchildren to remind me of those days.  My grandson, in particular, a 4 year old, is as full of joy and innocence and wonder and imagination as any child I have ever seen.  He is constantly in a world of his own making, fighting injustice or running a railway station, or any number of other things his mind creates.  I’m pretty sure this child is going to be one of those creative, left-brain types.

We all need to find our Imma Roland inner child and allow him/her to pop up in our writing at times.  Even those who do not do fiction can have a creative side or allow the imagination to peek through the mundane, day-to-day writing tasks. When Roland is at play, he uses the things he knows in the real world, but he uses them in unique ways.  His imagination takes over and the fun ensues.  He, at times, even insists that we call him by another name.  He is the epitomy of the imagination of childhood.

One of the reasons God allows us to experience childhood (besides the fact that it is only by being babies that our parents would fall in love with us!) is so that we can have this time of wonder and imagination to return to.  Adulthood is a difficult place to live, and we need those memories to keep us from getting weighed down in the mire of adult responsibilities to the point where we lose that wonder.   I am sorry for those of you who had childhoods void of the things that define childhood to most.  Mine had its issues, and I often escaped into my imagination.  I hope you were able to do so as well.

The point here is that we should not stiffle that inner child by telling him/her to be quiet and let the grown-ups talk.  Especially in the world of writing, we need to give this inner child some freedom to create, within the confines of adult guidance (see more on this later), so that our writing can have a unique voice that brings joy to the reader and the writer.   Imagine fiction, or most other genres without imagination and creativity!  Heaven forbid!

In a future post, we will discuss ways we can allow our inner child to play and create.  Hopefully some of you will add your 2 cents and be included in future posts.

What are some ways you allow your inner child into your writing?

Why do you think it’s important to do so?

Do you find it difficult to find that inner child?

What are some ways you open up to the creative side in your writing?

Roland — need to find inner child.

9 Comments

  1. I love the idea of this post. Embracing your inner child is a good idea, and it can certainly set a writer apart from those writer who use large words just to make themselves and their work sound more important. Think back to happy childhood memories and try to imagine how you saw the world then. Look at your current surroundings and try to think as though you were still that age.

    • Yes, we have struggles when we try to pretend that inner child is no longer viable. It’s an important part of who we are. Thanks for the suggestion:)

  2. Enjoyed being REMINDED about the inner child. I ‘think’ i have one and I ‘believe’ we’ve met but I’ll have to take a second look (a tiny giggle escapes).

    • Maybe our inner children can meet to play, at least in cyber world, sometime soon 🙂 he he

  3. authormjlogan

    I need to come up with names for my own sides. That way I could talk to myself, get answers and not think I’m headed for the large, brick manor with the high fence.

    I wonder what my inner child would say to my left brain?

    • Ha ha! Your inner child would probably call your left brain a name like “stinky head” or something. Especially when left brain gets bossy:) Let me know if you come up with names. I am glad I am not the only one who argues with herself lol.

  4. I’ve been working on some personal commandments, similar to what Gretchen Rubin has with her Happiness Project. One of them is to lighten up and laugh. My husband is quite a wiseass and I can tell I’ve gotten way too serious when I can’t laugh at him, which makes him act out even more. If I smile or laugh, he backs off on the stupid stuff.

    If I can laugh and be light in my attitude, it makes it much easier for my inner child / muse / happiness to come to the front.

    And that’s a good idea for a blog post 🙂

    Nancy

    • Happy writing on that post. Can’t wait to read it. Yes, sometimes it’s best to “fall on the sword” as my friend says, and just laugh or do whatever the other person needs to move on. I am the smart alec around here, but in my family, you don’t want to laugh too much because then it escalates! I’d rather have a family that laughs too much than one that laughs too little, though. I’m hoping to spark a revolution of sorts in how we look at writing (and life).

Trackbacks

  1. Imma’s Challenge « Writing with both sides of my brain

Leave a Reply

