Battles and Blessings


For some reason I published Gram and Imma’s quotes at the same time.  Still trying to get the hang of this scheduling thing.  I love it, but does it love me?

Battles (ways we struggle) vs. Blessings (ways we have overcome)

What language is this?

Sometimes that’s the hardest part about writing.  It’s not putting words on paper, pulling out the muse, coming up with a subject or even editing when finished.  It is dealing with all the technical things that come with writing on the internet.  Oh for the days when paper and pencil, and maybe a typewriter, were all that was needed!  No, I do appreciate the new technologies and don’t really long for the old days, but sometimes…

What do you struggle with the most?  Is it the tecnologies that seem to pop up all over the place, requiring a new learning curve?  Maybe that’s easy for you, and you struggle with other aspects of writing.  For this post, I hope you will join in the fun.

In your comment, tell one thing you struggle with in writing and one suggestion you have for helping others with some writing difficulty.  In other words, share your struggle and share your strength, your tips, your shortcuts, or whateve you like:  share a battle and a blessing.  Your answers may make it into a future post.

 

Thanks for stopping by,

Gram and Imma

5 Comments

  1. authormjlogan

    I sometimes struggle with dialog and grammar and this is so much a left vs right thing for me.
    Creative knows this is how John speaks – John said, “That ain’t the way ya oughta do that.”
    Logical wants me to fix it, “That is not the right way to do that.”

    It gets worse when punctuation gets in the way.
    Sarah said, “Sometimes Freddie says,’God Help Me! Please!'”
    And that is how Sarah speaks. The punctuation makes writing it awkward and Creative refuses to fix it. I wrote that phrase months ago and Logical still obsesses over it.

    Aimless writing can turn into a mess in a hurry. If you’ve got an idea for a story, long or short, write the idea down and then write a list of events that take place leading up to a conclusion. Go back and turn each event into a chapter. Don’t be afraid to include new things as you go along. You’ll be surprised at how focused and clear the story comes out and you still have the freedom to add and delete as you go.

    • I’m glad to know I’m not alone in this. You would think with my Gram brain, I would excell at grammatical issues. Sometimes I do. Sometimes, my Imma brain gets in the way. Oh what fun when two diametrically opposed sides of the brain try to operate at the same time! Your Freddie sentence is correct, but I get why you would struggle with it. As a fiction writer, that must cause you all kinds of headaches. I tend to rewrite things when the punctuation has my brain puckered, so that I avoid the problem altogether. Is that cheating?

      Thank you for your suggestion. That’s one are where the left brain can help keep the right brain on task. I will try that and see how it works for me. Thanks for dropping by. (Notice I am much more casual in my comment writing than in my other writing.)

  2. I like the idea of this post Angela! My battle: How to become an expert at the social networks without having the time to figure out all the details of how to use it to its greatest potential. My tip to share: Create a to-do list in the morning for tasks to be done during the day and don’t be hard on yourself if you don’t get them all done by end of day. There is always tomorrow to roll over those tasks to be done and recognize how much you HAVE accomplished that day.

    • Thank you very much, Christy. I feel your pain with the social networking thing. Finding the balance between self-promotion and spamming is one thing I struggle with, besides the logistics of it all. To-do list: make a to-do list 🙂 Thanks for coming by. Angie

  3. I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I am quite sure I will learn lots of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

