Which are you: right brain, left brain, all mixed up


Some writers are mostly left-brained.  These are the technical writers, the editors, the grammarians who tend to play by the rules.  Then there are the predominantly right-brained writers.  They are very creative and don’t mind if it gets a bit messy.  Then you have writers that use both sides.  Of course there’s a conflict when your logical side and free and easy side try to work together.  The following is my take on some of the blogs I follow.  What do you think?

LEFT BRAIN

Grant Helms of ganthelms probably falls into this category.  He seems to get to the point in his writing instead of dancing around like some do.

Derek Mansker of No Throw Aways is getting placed in this category as well.  This one is a poser.  He is good at using less words to make his point, but then again there is whimsy and humor in his style.  He may be one who gets moved.  Of course we are talking predominantly here and not all or nothing.

One Burned Out Mama is going to be the only girl in this category.  She has symptoms of right brain dominance, but I think she goes squarely here.  I believe her left brain self is a bit frustrated by all the right-brain stuff, and that’s why I’m giving her the left brain award.

 

 

 

 

RIGHT BRAIN

 

Free Spirits United  has to go in this category.  I think I would be flogged with a wet noodle for even considering the left-brained category.  I have a feeling this writer does not want to be tied down to a category at all.  Lots of fun happening here.

scribbling hermit goes here, although I suspect some left-brained influence.  This writer enjoys writing poetry and other creative items.  This writer is also not a slave to punctuation which is a give away.

Articles of absurdity is getting a Right-Brain award too.  Anyone who claims her blog is on its menstrual cycle has to be a right brain creative.

Sam Zuppardi of  brushing up  goes in here as a definate creative type.  Does that mean he is predominantly left brained?  Hmmm

 

 

ALL MIXED UP

Ann Marie Dwyer of Momma’s Money Matters is an example of this kind of writer.  She can go from practical advice to a flight of fancy in a heart beat.  Who knows whether this is a struggle for her, but I can definately see both sides working in her writing.

Mary Salyer of  The Poetry Editor (and several other blogs) is definately a right brain/left brain writer.  Anyone who uses the word Poetry and Editor in the same title has to be someone who uses both sides on a relatively equal basis.  If I am wrong, I would lean toward the left brain, just because she seems organized (and must be to have so many blogs!)

Aware writer  fits perfectly in this category.  He even discusses the conflict in his blog at times.

 

 

What do you think?

Do you think I did a good job in placing blogs into categories? 

Where would you place these examples or yourself? 

Do you believe in right/left brain dominance at all?

If you didn’t make it this time, hang on.  You may find yourself here in the future.

6 Comments

  1. Hello…thank you for following my blog at Faith1st Ministry. My hope it has and will continue to be a major blessing in your life. May God richly bless you as you continue to write and blog. Please continue with us on this journey and remember to have Faith 1st. — Sebastian

    • Faith first – I like it! I am trying to teach my Sunday School class to “Pray 1st”. When we get that maybe we’ll move on to faith first. Thank you for following me. I look forward to reading about Faith 1st and getting to know you. Angie

  2. How about no brain? Have any for that one? This is an interesting post here. Well thought out and clear. Is it right? Who knows!?

    • No brain? We all know some of those! Or at least those who don’t use either side of the brain. I’ll have to let that percolate for a future post. It actually is true (at least according to research) and it’s certainly true for this divided brain! I’m glad you enjoyed it. Have a good weekend. Angie

      • I love Derek’s response! Probably why I love his blog too.

        Nancy

      • Yes, Derek is definately a great blogger and a great poster! Hmmm, that means something different in old school world lol.

Leave a Reply

