Hello world: Meet Gram and Imma


Now that my blog at Do you mean what I know is going well, I have decided to begin writing about writing.  I hope you will come along for the ride, wherever it takes us.  The premise for the blog name comes from my inner struggle, one that I share with many other writers.  I am a very crazy creative person; my brain is constantly working and coming up with new ways to do old things or old ways to do new things.  This is my right brain side, which tends to be overactive and OCD.  On the other brain side, is the perfectionistic editor.  She is also quite OCD and likes to spoil Right Brain’s fun with all her rules about grammar and all that stuff.  Left Brain, also known as “Hitler” “the grammar nazi,”  (Gram for short) is very strict and tends to also be judgmental.

Right Brain, also known as “Imma FreeSpirit” (Imma for short), is very good at snubbing her nose at Left brain’s strictures and doing her own thing.  In fact, she loves to laugh at the unintended consequences of typos, misspellings and other such grammatical creations.

Even though these two have their issues, they do love one another and appreciate the strengths each one brings to writing.  When they work together, they are very good.  When they don’t, well, it’s like sibling wars gone wrong.

Gram and Imma "face off" in the space between my ears

Imma:  “Did you see that?  Left brain just backspaced and fixed a typo right in the middle of a post!  I was thinking alone along and she interupts me to fix a stupid typo.  You see why she annoys me at times?”

Gram:  “What good is writing if it’s wrong?  That’s why it’s called  w-RIGHT-ing.  You know you’d be a mess if I didn’t keep you in line.”

Imma:  “Yes, I know I need you to temper me a bit, but must you interrupt me right in the middle of my word flow?  Do you know how many great things I’ve never written because you interrupted me and made me lose my train of thought?”

Gram:  “I suppose I could wait for the editing process, but it’s just so hard for me to see those things.  And SOMETIMES you forget to let me edit the post before you hit publish.  Then all that mess is out there for all the world to see.  You don’t want people to think you can’t spell do you?”

Imma:  “How about if we agree that you wait till I’m slowing down on the thought flow or till the end, and I agree that we will always edit before hitting publish?  Agreed?”

Gram:  “Agreed.  Let’s write!”

 

Well it looks like we have a truce for now.  We’ll see how long it lasts.

Do you have a fighting left-brain/right-brain thing going on in your writer’s head?

How do you deal with it?   Do you have any funny stories to share?

Well, the cart has left the station and I see the first hill coming, so I better hang on for dear life and get my scream on.  I hope ya’ll enjoy the ride too.

8 Comments

  1. Cute approach to creativity! (Added you to WORKING IN WORDS.)

    • Thank you Linda, can’t wait to check it out.

  2. This is a VERY creative start. Cheers to both of you… Gram and Imma. LOL.

    Angela… I’m impressed. VERY impressed.

    • Why thank you so much Mandy! Hopefully Gram and Imma will drive the blog and give me lots of good ideas 🙂

  3. Love your approach. I’m going to be happy coming back here.

    By the way, thank you for stopping by my blog.

    • Thank you very much! I loved your blog and appreciate you coming by here (and leaving a comment!). I look forward to getting to know you in our cyberworld. Angie

  4. This really made me smile – it sounds so familiar! Thanks for visiting my blog.

    • Thanks for coming to meet Gram and Imma 🙂 I’m glad I’m not alone. Angie

Leave a Reply

