Freelance Writing Guide: A Review


As a writer, I often look for articles and books that help me with my craft.  One such book is Freelance Writing Guide by Christine Rice.   Christine is a self-published writer who decided to share the things she learned in her first year as a free-lance writer.  The book is simple and concise, but it gives a lot of information that would help someone considering a career as a freelance writer.  Even those who have freelanced for a while can learn a few things from this book.  I know I did.

Freelance Writing Guide:  What to Expect in Your First Year as a Freelance Writer covers everything a writer might meet when entering (or continuing in) the freelance writing market.  It covers everything from writing, publishing, marketing, and SEO to lifestyle changes one might encounter.  Christine provides helpful tools that will enhance the freelancer’s craft and help in navigating the shoals of the pursuing a career in freelance writing.  Christine simply tells her story and shares all the knowledge she gained along the way with her readers.

Having read several such books that fail to come through as promised, I was pleasantly surprised by the helpfulness of Christine’s book.  The book gives details in how to do all the different things a freelance writer must do to earn from his or her income.  I have been freelance writing since 2007, and I learned quite a few helpful tips from this book.  In my estimation, that makes this a great book for any freelancer seeking to enter the world of freelance writing.  It’s also helpful to those who have freelanced for a while, but still feel as if they are groping in the dark at times.  Her style is simple, but engaging, and laid out in an easy-to-use format as a resource tool for writers.  I highly recommend this book for those in or interested in entering a career as a freelance writer.

I love that Christine shares the struggles, freelancing is not easy, along with the solutions that make the struggle worthwhile.  Freelance writing is not for the faint of heart, but with Christine’s guide, those who want to pursue writing as a career or even an added part-time income, will find much information to help them along the way.

You can buy Christine’s book(s) here

You can also find Christine here:

Her Blog

Her Website

Facebook

Goodreads

LinkedIn

Twitter

6 Comments

  1. Great write up, Angie. Now to get the time to read the suggested book. :)
    God Bless You!

    • I hear you. It’s pretty easy to read which helps. :)

  2. I’ve been trying to keep up with my ‘upgrading’ reading and seem to have missed a lot of your posts, OR, you haven’t been able to come here just as I have not either of late. At any rate, I want to commend you on a GREAT post. Most of us work alone; it’s sometimes refeshing to hear from the outside world, ESPECIALLY when a fresh tip like yours is shared. THANK YOU, Angie.

    • Thank you Tess. No, I have been very busy and haven’t been posting. I’m way behind on the reading too. I will get there soon though! Thanks for coming by and for your kind words. :)

  3. Thanks for the recommendation!

    Nancy

Trackbacks

  1. I’m sad to see you go… « Christine Rice, Author

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 406 other followers

