Creativity Sparks


What sparks you?
Images from morguefile.com

Today I want to share something I think of as a great creativity sparker. That may not be a word, but it is now :) This idea starts with something called a journal jar. A journal jar is a jar (duh!), such as a mason jar, in which you put strips of paper with a different topics. In the Journal Jar, you can write things like, “Went to the zoo, 00/00/00″, “Fourth of July”, etc., using them to spark memories in free writing biography form.

Writers can create an idea jar. Start with slips of paper, add random topics, pull a topic and start writing. The idea is to free write and not over-think the thing. This is a creative exercise meant to spark your creativity.

If you try this, let me know how it works for you. I think this idea would work for children who can write as well. Might as well train them in creative writing, especially during those long summer days of “I’m bored!” Enjoy :)

Read more at http://www.favecrafts.com/Gifts-in-a-Jar/Journal-Jar/ml/1#DHFpq7VqBm15xLPK.99

12 Comments

  1. What a good idea

    • Thank you Anne :)

  2. I use Evernote as a cloud tool to keep tracks of ideas, things to know, etc. One of the things I do with it is a journal jar with thoughts I have, links to things I thought were interesting or sometimes I copy things over into it to inspire me. I’ve also been using Pinterest lately to do the same :) I tried using your Pinterest button but Pinterest didn’t much like it. I finally pinned the old fashioned way by copying your URL and pasting it in.

    Nancy

    • Sorry Nancy, I will try to make sure I have pictures on all my posts. Thank you for pinning! Angie

  3. P.S. It would help me in pinning it if you had an image of some sort. Wikimedia images are free (with attribution). If nothing else, just put in a pretty picture. Or ask the blogger who you linked to for making the jar if you could use one of her images. Just an idea.

    • Thanks Nancy. I did this one as a short post, so I didn’t include a picture. I will keep that in mind and try to do better. I’ll get one on here too as soon as I can. I’m just learning Evernote, but that’s a great idea. Angie :)

  4. I don’t leave you a comment for ages and now you can’t get rid of me! I was not able to post it to Pinterest without a picture. I tried downloading today’s Wikimedia picture to use to go with it (two beautiful moths) and it didn’t like that either.

    So. . . if you do add a picture, let me know and I’ll try pinning it again. I’ve now learned something else new about Pinterest – must have picture or don’t bother! It’s always something. . .

    Have a good weekend!

    • Will do :)

  5. Great idea, Angie. Sounds like my treasure box: partial quotes (of sentences), interesting pictures, word phrases or story ideas etc.

    • Sounds like we all think alike :)

  6. Absolutely, I love IDEA JARS. I even keep a small coffee can (empty of coffee, of course) called “Java Jolt.” I have maybe 30 pieces of paper inside, including submission needs for small publications, addresses of places to send “snippets” (helpful hints for writers and artists, etc.), places needing sidebar information or “filler stories” or articles, etc.
    When I need a break or hit writer’s block, I draw one of the papers and make myself spend a half hour or so writing an opening or a rough draft of something that MIGHT work. Sometimes I go on and take the time to finish it and submit; other times it shakes loose the muggy thinking and I can get back to my other writing.
    Thanks for this post. Anything that gets writers thinking and sharing ideas is a VERY good thing!

    • Amen to that! I love how we spark off one another with our blogs at times. Or, you read and find out that we all had similar sparks at the same time. Fun. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 407 other followers

