Writing Your Story


“Write your story as it needs to be written. Write it honestly, and tell it as best you can. I’m not sure that there are any other rules. Not ones that matter.”    ~ Neil Gaiman

I borrowed this quote for today’s post.  We all have a story (stories) to tell.  Many of us need to tell this/these stories, especially those of us who consider ourselves writers.  Although  we can tell stories in other mediums, for this post we will focus on writers.

Writers, especially in the beginning, tend to experiment with ways of telling the stories locked inside them.    They have to find their own voice before they can truly share their inmost parts.    While imitation is flattering, it does not really help us find ourselves.  It merely helps us find who we are not!

The thing is that writers tend to have too many rules.  Grammar rules, their own rules, the rules they perceive from others, etc. fill us with dread as we face the story.   We want to do it right, but fear we will do it so wrong!  Our perfectionism, list of rules, and fear keep us from telling our story or at least help us to procrastinate the telling.

Mr. Gaiman reminds us that telling the story is more important than how we tell it.  We can always edit later, but we must get the story down first.  The only rules you need are:

1)  Write it honestly.   and

2) Write it the best you can.

I think I can handle those two rules.  How about you?  Do you have a story to tell?  Do you have many stories to tell?  Have you told them?  Are you making it harder than it needs to be?

In telling stories about my adventures lately with my dad and more, I have begun to realize I have stories to tell and I need to tell them.  Whether Gram, Imma, or both have a hand in the process, it needs to happen.  Will I take my own advice?  Tune in later to see.

11 Comments

  1. Angie, I REALLY love this post. Know why? Because that is how I write MY fiction. I don’t follow rules other than ‘be as literate and honest as possible’. This is SUPERIOR advice for writers! Great post! “:)

    • Thank you Raymond :) High praise indeed!

  2. This is a great post Angie, truer words and quoting Neil Gaiman (who I love)

    • Thanks Valentine. I actually had never heard of him till I saw this quote. I have since looked him up and read some of his stories. I can see why you love him. I’m probably going to feel the same way soon. Angie

  3. authormjlogan

    Great post Angie. Finding your own voice gives you a signature that most won’t be able to duplicate and helps you stand out from the crowd.

    • Thanks MJ. I think we tend to spend too much time looking for our voice, when it’s already there just waiting to speak up. :)

  4. Great thoughts Angie… I think my waiting until I thought I could write it perfectly has kept me from writing much of it at all. Thanks for the encouragement.

    • You should see the smile on my face when I saw your name! It’s amazing how often we, like Moses and others, make excuses for not doing, ie. it has to be perfect. I am loving reading about your adventures and what God is doing in your blog. Thanks for stopping by! God bless and give Nancy a hug for me :) Angie

Trackbacks

  1. Stories: An adventure in Flash Fiction « Writing with both sides of my brain
  2. Writing – an ever learning process « writing with both sides of my brain
  3. More advice « writing with both sides of my brain

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 405 other followers

